The Technology and Engineering Division at Fullerton College offers 16 robust Career Education programs to help you meet your career and occupational goals. Options include short-term certificates, associate degrees and university transfer credit. Whether you are exploring a career or improving your job skills, we offer many innovative hands-on programs in state-of-the-art classroom labs. Our career expert instructors prepare students with the real-world skills employers seek.

The main objectives in the Technology and Engineering Division is a focus on supporting student success in the areas of:

  • equipping learners with real-world skills, such as entrepreneurial and employability skills, that are foundational and transferable across rapidly shifting sectors and work activities;
  • placing learners on a path to post-secondary credential attainment that translates into in-demand, high-skill occupations; and
  • bringing business and industry to the table to ensure that CTE programs are relevant and future focused.

What is Career Education?

Career Education programs focus on developing skills related to a specific job and engages students in hands-on training and does not rely on traditional teaching methods of instruction. Additionally, CTE curriculum aligns directly with industry needs so students are properly skilled. For additional CTE program information at Fullerton College, visit: cte.fullcoll.edu

All the Career Education programs in the Division of Technology and Engineering provide students with opportunities to engage in hands-on activities. We partner with business and industry to offer internships and job opportunities. Check with each program instructor for specific job announcements. Scholarships are also available for many of our programs. 

For specific information on careers and median annual salaries, visit:  www.bls.gov/ooh

For complete degree and certificate information, including required coursework listings, refer to the College Catalog. For current and future course offerings, refer to the Class Schedule.

PROGRAMS

The Technology and Engineering Division offers 16 programs, each offering a variety of degrees and certificates. Click on the programs below to learn what they have to offer.

ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE

The Administration of Justice Department prepares students for careers in local, state and federal law enforcement, security, and court administration. Courses within the programs offered acquaint students with the American criminal justice system, criminal law, evidence procedures, investigations, and forensics.

ARCHITECTURE

Learn to design buildings, houses and other structures. The courses are taught by instructors with real-world experience and provide students with expertise necessary to be successful in architecture-related jobs.

AUTOMOTIVE TECHNOLOGY

The Automotive Technology Department at Fullerton College is committed to preparing students for employment in the automotive service and repair industry. Students learn to diagnose malfunctions and perform proper vehicle repairs. Offering ‘hands-on” learning, students train in high-tech equipment, training aids, lab vehicles, and also service customer cars.

CINEMA AND TELEVISION

Our program prepares students for careers in Film, Television and New Media. We provide a professional, technical and creative foundation to help students enter into the industry while also providing a historical/theoretical background that promotes critical thinking and culturally conscious media makers.

CONSTRUCTION

The Architecture Construction program provides students with a variety of classes in residential construction, building codes, estimating and blueprint reading. These courses are taught by instructors with real-world experience and provide students with expertise necessary to be successful in a variety of construction-related jobs.

COSMETOLOGY

The beauty industry is a vast field with plenty of exciting opportunities for careers in hair and cosmetology and it’s growing! The Cosmetology program at Fullerton College consists of five consecutive levels that prepare students to become eligible to take the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology exams. Students prepare in a structured 1,600-hour program taught by experienced instructors.

DRAFTING

The Industrial Drafting Technology Program at Fullerton College provides students with a variety of classes in industrial drafting. Many classes utilize computer software such as AutoCAD and Solidworks. Students will develop the skills to create computer-rendered drawings, blueprints and models for engineering and manufacturing industries.

ENGINEERING

The Engineering Program at Fullerton College provides the student with a variety of basic classes. Courses are offered in surveying, engineering drawing, statics, and electric circuits. These courses are for UC degree credit.

FASHION DESIGN

The Fashion Design and Merchandising programs provide students with hands-on experience, coupled with a strong theory-based education, to acquire job skills necessary to gain entry-level positions in the fashion and apparel industry and related careers.

INTERIOR DESIGN

The Interior Design Department offers programs in Commercial Design, Interior Design, Interior Merchandising and Residential Design. Interior Designers improve the quality of life for the occupants of an interior space by making it functional and aesthetically pleasing.

JOURNALISM

The Journalism Program at Fullerton College provides a solid foundation in all forms of print journalism, including newspaper and magazine publishing. The department offers courses in journalism, public relations and advertising, with certificates available in each area.

MACHINE TECHNOLOGY

We stress conventional machining skills on engine lathes, milling machines and grinders as core skills for our intermediate and advanced courses along with CNC machining and CNC programming courses.

PHOTOGRAPHY

The Fullerton Photography Department offers both an Associate Arts Degree in Photography and a Professional Photography Certificate. The Photography Program prepares students for employment into a multitude of industries that utilize photography and/or transfer to a four- year degree university.

PRINTING TECHNOLOGY

Fullerton College offers hands-on training on modern, high-speed equipment. The program offers courses in electronic pre-press, packaging production and design, flexography, offset presswork, and screen printing.

RADIO

The Radio Broadcasting Associate in Arts Degree Program is designed to prepare students for entry level employment in Internet, radio broadcasting, audio production in the Film and Television industries, and/or independent audio production studio work.

WELDING TECHNOLOGY

The Welding Technology Certificate is designed to prepare students to apply a variety of welding processes in the workplace. Welders are in demand across a wide spectrum of skilled trades and professions.

EVENTS

The Department of Technology & Engineering hosts numerous events throughout the year. Check back regularly for information on upcoming events.

Manufacturing Day

October 4, 2019

In celebration of annual Manufacturing Day 2019, Fullerton College will open its doors on Friday, October 4, to more than 200 local high school students, counselors and instructors so that they gain an understanding of the many aspects of manufacturing and to broaden their perspective on many pathways leading to careers in manufacturing.

The day includes hands-on demonstrations by instructors in the Fashion Design & Merchandising, Machine Technology, Printing Technology and Welding programs at Fullerton College. Manufacturing companies will also provide interactive exhibits and present career opportunities in manufacturing.

For information, visit: https://www.mfgday.com/events/2019/manufacturing-day-at-fullerton-college

CTE Showcase Day

Date TBD

CTE Showcase Day is an opportunity for high school students to learn and explore many CTE programs available at Fullerton College.  Students will tour programs, engage in hands-on demonstrations and interact with faculty.  The event will also promote awareness of the value of CTE.

SCHOLARSHIPS

Many scholarships are available for the Technology and Engineering programs. For more information on CTE Scholarships, visit:

Fullerton College Foundation Office
fullertoncollegescholarships.com
info@foundationfc.com
714.992.7790

Take a Tour

To schedule a tour, contact:

Martha Payan-Hernandez
Director of CTE Recruitment and Outreach
714-992-7585 | mpayan@fullcoll.edu

KBPK 90.1FM

Fullerton College is home to the studios of KBPK 90.1FM, a Class D (non-comm) FM radio station broadcasting from Buena Park, California. The station is owned by the Buena Park School District. It is operated by the Fullerton College Media Studies Department and primarily airs an adult contemporary format as well as various educational programs, sports events and PSA’s.

RESOURCES

CTE provides you with a number of resources to ensure you receive the kind of support you need to reach your academic goals as well as your career goals.

Career Coach

California Community College’s Career Coach helps you find major, in-demand careers and education based on your interests.

OC Career Café

OC Career Café is a virtual career center for Orange County community college students.

Department of Labor

The Department of Labor’s Occupational Outlook Handbook can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay and outlook for hundreds of occupations

NEWS

FACULTY & STAFF

Contact the Technology and Engineering Division faculty to assist you with course information and program planning.

DEAN

Technology & Engineering Division

Kenneth Starkman
714-992-7052
kstarkman@fullcoll.edu

FACULTY

Celia Assef
Professor, Cosmetology
714-992-7579
cassef@fullcoll.edu

Margaret (Peg) Berger
Professor, Radio/Television
714-992-7566
mberger@fullcoll.edu

 

George Bonnand
Professor, Machine Technology
714-992-7576
gbonnand@fullcoll.edu

Laura Bouza
Professor, Radio/Television
714-992-7573
lbouza@fullcoll.edu

Dan Carter
Professor, Drafting Technology
714-992-7595
dcarter@fullcoll.edu

Mareike Claassen
Professor, Engineering
714-992-7389
mclaassen@fullcoll.edu

Benjamin Cuatt
Professor, Printing Technology
714-992-7588
bcuatt@fullcoll.edu

Adriana Currie
Professor, Interior Design
714-992-7596
acurrie@fullcoll.edu

Will Daniel
Professor, Welding
714-992-7589
wdaniel@fullcoll.edu

John Farley
Professor, Automotive Technology
714-992-7562
jfarley@fullcoll.edu

Jay Goldstein
Professor, Media Studies
714-992-7567
jgoldstein@fullcoll.edu

Charlotte Jimmons
Professor, Cosmetology
714-992-7583
cjimmons@fullcoll.edu

Brian Kaneko
Professor, Interior Design
714-992-7561
bkaneko@fullcoll.edu

Jonathan Keller
Professor, Construction
714-992-7580
jkeller@fullcoll.edu

Brendon Kirby
Professor, Welding
714-992-7599
bkirby@fullcoll.edu

Melody LaMontia
Professor, Photography
714-992-7571
mlamontia@fullcoll.edu

Jessica Langlois
Professor, Journalism
714-992-7570
jlanglois@fullcoll.edu

David Lopez
Professor, Automotive Technology
714-992-7564
dlopez@fullcoll.edu

Patrick McGrew
Professor, Construction Technology
714-992-7577
pmcgrew@fullcoll.edu

Robert Maine
Professor, Automotive Technology
714-992-7590
rmaine@fullcoll.edu

Jordan Maxwell
Professor, Welding
714-992-7598
jmaxwell1@fullcoll.edu

Jeff Minton
Professor, Photography
714-992-7572
jminton@fullcoll.edu

Jose V. Miranda
Professor, Automotive Technology
714-992-7565
jmiranda@fullcoll.edu

Rachel Nevarez
Professor, Fashion Design & Merchandising
714-992-7056
rnevarez@fullcoll.edu

Dan O’Brien
Professor, Machine Technology
714-992-7586
dobrien@fullcoll.edu

Wendy Perez
Professor, Cosmetology
714-992-7597
wperez@fullcoll.edu

Alan Ray
Professor, Architecture
714-992-5451
aray@fullcoll.edu

Kelly Robertson
Professor, Administration of Justice
714-992-7592
krobertson@fullcoll.edu

Yvonne Salazar
Professor, Cosmetology
714-992-7584
ysalazar@fullcoll.edu

Kevin Sampson
Professor, Administration of Justice
714-992-7591
ksampson@fullcoll.edu

Jay Seidel
Professor, Journalism
714-992-7575
jseidel@fullcoll.edu

Marcu Wade
Professor, Cosmetology
714-992-7593
mwade@fullcoll.edu

Renee Young
Professor, Fashion Design & Merchandising
714-992-7559
ryoung@fullcoll.edu

Charles Zepeda
Professor, Automotive Technology
714-992-7563
czepeda@fullcoll.edu

STAFF

Anita Coggi
Administrative Assistant II
Cosmetology
714-992-5463
acoggi@fullcoll.edu

David Diaz
Coordinator
Automotive Technology
714-992-5453
ddiaz@fullcoll.edu

Shauna Fisher
Administrative Assistant II
Technology & Engineering
714-992-5457
sfisher@fullcoll.edu

Maite Hagmaier
Clerical Assistant II
Cosmetology
714-732-5462
mhagmaier1@fullcoll.edu

Tami Le
Institutional Aide-Dispensary
Cosmetology
tle1@fullcoll.edu

Colm Melia
Television/Video Technician
Media Studies
714-992-5456
cmelia@fullcoll.edu

Vivianna Orozco
Laboratory Technician
Cosmetology
714-992-5460
vorozco@fullcoll.edu

Ryan Osborn
Laboratory Clerk
Radio
714-732-5455
rosborn@fullcoll.edu

Joseph Pavlenko
Radio Broadcast Technician
714-732-5459
jpavlenko@fullcoll.edu

Martha Payan-Hernandez
CTE Director, Recruitment & Outreach
714-992-7585
mpayan@fullcoll.edu

Anita Sandez
Administrative Assistant I
Technology & Engineering
714-992-5454
asandez@fullcoll.edu

Cynthia Sands
Division Office Manager
Technology & Engineering
714-992-5452
csands@fullcoll.edu